Great Grand Finals involving the Sydney Roosters

The Eastern Suburbs team of 1975. You'll find them on the St George list.

Now that I’ve given St George the treatment, it’s only fair that I also profile some great Grand Finals involving the Eastern Suburbs, um, Sydney City, ah, Sydney Roosters.

29 August 1908 at Agricultural Society Ground: South Sydney 14 Eastern Suburbs 12 – The first ever final was weakened by players from both sides having already left for the tour to England.

30 August 1919 at Agricultural Society Ground: Balmain 13 Eastern Suburbs 4 – Not strictly a grand final as there were no finals in 1919, but the top two teams, Balmain and Easts, just happened to meet in the final round. Les Wall kicked 5 goals for the Tigers.

1921 – North Sydney 17pts; Eastern Suburbs 15pts – No finals in 1921 either. North Sydney went through the season undefeated, albeit with one draw – an 8-all draw in round 5 with Eastern Suburbs.

22 September 1928 at Agricultural Society Ground: South Sydney 26 Eastern Suburbs 5 – Easts had lost only one game en route to the final but were pummelled by Souths who led 26-0 and won their fourth successive premiership.

12 September 1931 at Sydney Sports Ground: South Sydney 12 Eastern Suburbs 7 – Easts had been runaway minor premiers but in the decider, winger Billy Hong twisted an ankle leaving his team a man short. Souths halfback Harry Eyres crossed for the winning try after the referee had accidentally got in between Eyres and the tackler.

16 September 1934 at Sydney Sports Ground: Western Suburbs 15 Eastern Suburbs 12 – Easts made the score look closer than it should have been after scoring a try which included a blatant knock-on in the lead-up.

3 September 1938 at Sydney Cricket Ground: Canterbury-Bankstown 19 Eastern Suburbs 6 – The Roosters pack contained all internationals but still managed to give Canterbury its first premiership in just its fourth season.

30 August 1941 at Sydney Cricket Ground: St George 31 Eastern Suburbs 14 – St George won its first ever premiership with a superb attacking performance. This was the final match for Easts’ pointscoring legend, Dave Brown.

3 September 1960 at Sydney Cricket Ground: St George 31 Eastern Suburbs 6 – After having to play a series of play-offs to qualify for the finals, Easts were knackered by Grand Final day. St George scored seven tries to nil.

16 September 1972 at Sydney Cricket Ground: Manly-Warringah 19 Eastern Suburbs 14 – Manly won its first premiership after scoring two tries that Easts believed should not have been awarded. Easts also had two tries disallowed.

27 September 1980 at Sydney Cricket Ground: Canterbury-Bankstown 18 Eastern Suburbs 4 – In the last Grand Final on a Saturday afternoon, Steve Gearin scored a classic try for Canterbury to give them their first premiership since 1942.

27 August 2000 at Stadium Australia: Brisbane 14 Sydney Roosters 6 – The Roosters were unable to beat the minor premiers despite some no-name Brisbane prop called Webcke playing with a broken arm.

5 October 2003 at Stadium Australia: Penrith 18 Sydney Roosters 6 – Penrith hooker Luke Priddis turned on a masterclass although any team whose winger (Todd Byrne) can get chased down by a lock (Scott Sattler) doesn’t deserve to win.

4 October 2004 at Stadium Australia: Bulldogs 16 Sydney Roosters 13 – Brad Fittler’s last game saw the Roosters go down to a team whose pre-season bonding practices have, to public knowledge, so far not been emulated.

This entry was posted in Rugby League and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s